Week Four (Monmouth Glass Studio)

The week started of with presentations on he early Monday morning that was presented to the client at the end of last week to get some feedback as to what they thought about the conceptual ideas. But meaning about to present to a different people gave a eye open to looking at thing differently about one of the part of the design especially about the material choice of ply wood that was initially taken place and over the next few days after making the prototype and seeing the appearance of the material I could finally see what my peers where asking about the material, so that took me back to my research back to the beginning and looking into the other lighter woods thought about at the start, so I have decided to go with American hard maple and the brass rings as they compliment well and flow with the glass colour of the table lamp.

Over the wood decision I also have had to consider the technical phase of the process, of how the switch components would be wired up and how I would cover up the plastic part of the switch.

In conjunction of the wood and brass colour scheme it was important to acknowledge the beauty of the hand blown glass piece of Monmouth’s glass studio. Were I had trouble deciding the colour I wanted to get the twist pendent glass lighting blown initially, but I have made a decision to go with the crystal blue colour that fades out on the top.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 2.10.26 pm

To make up a visual representation of my final design, I used Solid works to construct my design to have a look at scale and a visual presentation of my final table lamp.

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 2.11.03 pm

Ply wood prototype of scale to have a fair idea of construction methods that need to be taken place when producing the final product.

11268917_896816870361167_1935324829_n blue glass

I’m looking forward to meeting up with my client at the end of the week to give in the dimensions and specification of the glass piece I want blown up for the table lamp that I have designed for their glass lighting range, of table lamp.

Leave a Reply

