Week Three (Monmouth Glass Studio)

This third week of the project has basically been based on the initiate phase of the design process driven from the investigate and research part of the design process method. That I have taken aboard and tryed intergrating in the conceptual ideas that I will present to my client on Thursday morning and try get their input of the designs presented. During the sketching phase I looked into different types of foam to implement my design practise.

To help me get a better understanding of my designs I decided to reflect these practises into three dimensional quick fire prototypes, strictly focusing on the area of the table lamp base.

To get a better idea and understanding from a client’s perspective I used CAD as a form of illustration to demonstrate my ideas in a few images.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 10.01.55 pm Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 10.02.16 pm Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 10.02.31 pm

After I was happy with some of the foams of the base table lamp, I decided to develop on the basic wooden base aspect and try incorporating a wooden technique that could help further develop the conceptual idea of the lamp base.

While looking at techniques I also discovered the types of locally harvested sustainable wood available in New Zealand, to produce my end product.

This lead me to develop my base designs of the table lamp, and try different wood methods to help further enhance the wooden table lamp base.

I’m looking forward to presenting the conceptual designs I have developed over the week and have a client input of response to the ideas.

Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 10.03.35 pm Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 10.03.46 pm Screen Shot 2015-05-13 at 10.03.54 pm

Leave a comment